Jeffrey Nytch, Composer: Costa Concordia


Jeffrey Nytch, composer
Concerto for Violin: 
Costa Concordia

This new concerto, for Grammy-winning violinist Edward Dusinberre (of the Grammy-winning Takács String Quartet), is inspired by the tragic story of Hungarian violinist Sandor Feher, the orchestra leader aboard the Costa Concordia cruise liner that ran aground off the coast of Italy in 2012. Though lacking all training in emergency procedures, Feher helped families into life boats, reunited lost children with their parents, and helped maintain calm in the midst of the chaos. When it was his turn to board a lifeboat, he refused: he insisted on returning first to his cabin in order to retrieve his beloved violin. He never made it back. Concerto for Violin: Costa Concordia will be a love story of sorts, an exploration of the intimate relationship between an artist and his artistic voice — told from the perspective of the violin. This is but one illustration of a broader human story, however: how the power of love — experienced through music — can transcend tragedy.

Scored for violin, strings, harp, and percussion, the Concerto will be premiered in the 2017-18 season by the Pro Musica Colorado Chamber Orchestra, as well as by a consortium of orchestras including the Mission Chamber Orchestra (San Jose), the Dallas Chamber Symphony, and the Chamber Orchestra of Pittsburgh. The process of expanding this consortium is ongoing.


You’re invited to get involved…

Funds for this project will be raised through a crowdfunding initiative, set to launch in September 2016. Once the commission fee has been raised, additional funds will be sought to support participating organizations.